« All Events
“Triple Delight”- Opener!
Show guest artist bio
  • where: Dell Hall directions
  • conductor: Peter Bay

All great things come in threes, and the opening night of your Austin Symphony Orchestra’s 109th season is no exception! We have crafted an evening made up of three amazing pieces, starting with a short ten minute piece, Schubert’s powerful Magnificat in C Major. Next, the ASO will welcome to the stage the return of Van Cliburn Gold Medalist Jon Nakamatsu. Nakamatsu will perform a crowd-pleaser, Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 21 in C Major. After a brief intermission, the Austin Symphony, along with Chorus Austin, will perform Maurice Duruflé‘s breathtaking Requiem, Op. 9.

Your Austin Symphony, Jon Nakamatsu, Chorus Austin…Schubert, Mozart, Duruflé …This is one opening night of threes you will not want to miss!

Still want more? How about playing on some string instruments provided by our friends at Strait Music.? We also have a wonderful pre-concert talk given by Bob Buckalew at 7:10 pm. How about “tweeting” with our musicians and ASO staff? Take a photo in front of our photo wall. Come experience music that is “Larger Than Life!” Feeling a little peckish? Our friends at Spectrum Catering will be offering meal options outside on the Terrace and also on the Mezzanine level. See the menu items here.


All artists, dates, and repertoire is subject to change.

Franz Schubert Magnificat in C Major, D. 486
Wolfgang Amadé Mozart Piano Concerto No. 21 in C Major, K. 467
Maurice Duruflé Requiem, Op. 9

Maestro's choice recordings, Purchase recommended recordings from and help support the ASO


  • Wells Fargo