News & Reviews

« All News & Reviews

Elena Urioste to Perform Beethoven Violin Concerto

September 20, 2016
  • Who: Austin Symphony Orchestra
  • What: Elena Urioste to Perform Beethoven Violin Concerto
  • When: September 30, October 1, 2016 – 8:00 p.m.
  • Where: Dell Hall, Long Center for the Performing Arts, 701 W. Riverside Dr.
  • Cost: $12-$75
  • Contact: Eric Marshall | Public Relations & Guest Artist Relations Manager | .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Elena Urioste, a recently selected BBC Radio 3 New Generation Artist and a first prize laureate in both the Junior and Senior divisions of the Sphinx Competition, joins the ASO to perform Beethoven’s Violin Concerto in D Major on her 1706 Alessandro Gagliano violin. Elena was originally slated to perform Brahms’ Violin Concerto but a viral infection, which she has already recovered from, prohibited her from preparing the Brahms to her standards, a work not commonly performed by Ms. Urioste. The Beethoven Violin Concerto is one of the most demanding violin concertos in the standard repertoire and is one that Elena has been hailed by critics across the country for her technical prowess, beauty and fire:

“The soloist, Elena Urioste, played with an enchanting, sweet tone and shapely phrasing. There was an unaffected purity and naturalness to the trills that are sprinkled all over the solo part.”
Corinna da Fonseca-Wollheim, The New York Times; March 9, 2015

“…one of the loveliest and most demanding works in the repertoire, which she delivered with a flourish.”
Thomas B. Harrison, Press-Register; Feb. 26, 2012

“She powered through the concerto with a sophisticated balance of youthful ardor and cool grace, and in the most technically challenging movement, the 2nd, or Larghetto, she reached fiery heights.”
Donald Munro, Fresno Bee; Jan. 27, 2013

Performances with Elena Urioste will be held on Friday and Saturday, September 30th and October 1st in Dell Hall at the Long Center for the Performing Arts. These concerts are proudly sponsored by ExxonMobil and Alpheus Communications.

RALPH VAUGHAN WILLIAMSFantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis
LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN – Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 61
ZOLTÁN KODÁLY – Dances of Marosszék
ALBERTO GINASTERA – Four Dances from Estancia, Op. 8a

The Vaughan Williams piece Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis is a gorgeous piece of music and in 2014, 2015 and 2016, listeners of the UK classical music radio station Classic FM voted the piece into third place on the station’s “Hall of Fame”, an annual poll of the most popular classical music works.

Dances of Marosszék by Zoltán Kodály is folk inspired music collected from Marosszék, a town in the Szekely region of eastern Hungary. Kodaly revealed that the folk sources of these dances are Transylvanian and date back several centuries.

Alberto Ginastera’s Four Dances from Estancia gives reference to gaucho literature, rural folk dances, and urban concert music. The music paints a picture of the diverse landscape of Argentina, Ginastera’s homeland.

Back by popular demand are the twenty minute pre-concert talks at 7:10pm with Bob Buckalew discussing the pieces being performed. Patrons can also play on violins and violas provided by Violins Etc. and take pictures in front of the photo wall.

Tickets range from $12 to $75. Student rush tickets are also available 20 minutes prior to performance for $5 cash and current student ID (subject to availability). Charge tickets online at where you will find seating maps, price options and a wealth of concert information. Tickets are also available at the Austin Symphony Box Office, 11th and Red River or call 512.476.6064.