News & Reviews

« All News & Reviews

Rising Star Pianist to Appear with ASO in February

January 23, 2014
  • Who: Jonathan Biss with the Austin Symphony
  • When: February 7 & 8, 2014 - 8:00 p.m.
  • Where: Dell Hall - Long Center for the Performing Arts - 701 W. Riverside Dr.
  • Cost: $19 - $56

Maestro Peter Bay and the ASO invite concertgoers for “Your Night Out” as they continue the 103rd season of classical concerts with performances of works by Vaughan Williams, Schumann and Brahms. World-renowned pianist Jonathan Biss comes to the Austin Symphony stage for performances on Friday and Saturday, February 7th & 8th in Dell Hall at the Long Center for the Performing Arts. These concerts are proudly sponsored by Bank of America.

Vaughan Williams – The Lark Ascending
Schumann – Piano Concerto in A Minor, Op. 54
Brahms – Symphony No. 2 in D Major, Op. 73

Maestro Peter Bay and the ASO began the evening with a performance of English composer Ralph Vaughan Williams’ The Lark Ascending, featuring ASO concertmaster Jessica Mathaes. Lark was inspired by George Meredith’s 122-line poem of the same name about the skylark. Written in two versions – violin & piano (1914) and violin & orchestra (1920) – the orchestral version is the most frequently performed and is one of the most popular pieces in the Classical repertoire.

American pianist Jonathan Biss then takes the stage for Robert Schumann’s Piano Concerto in A Minor. Biss is widely regarded for his artistry, musical intelligence and deeply felt interpretations, winning international recognition for his orchestral, recital, and chamber music performances and for his award-winning recordings. He performs a diverse repertoire ranging from Mozart and Beethoven, through the Romantics to Janácek and Schoenberg, as well as works by contemporary composers such as György Kurtág and including commissions from Leon Kirchner, Lewis Spratlan, Timo Andres, and Bernard Rands.

After a brief intermission, the ASO returns to present the Second Symphony of Johannes Brahms. The Symphony No. 2 is reputed to be the happiest of the four that Brahms wrote. Where the First Symphony was constantly striving and reaching, the Second, while shorter, moves at a more leisurely pace. And while Brahms’ orchestrations tended to be thick and heavy, the Second Symphony achieved both a new transparency and a new richness.

Tickets for Jonathan Biss with the Austin Symphony range from $19 to $56. Student rush tickets are also available 20 minutes prior to performance for $5 cash and current student ID (subject to availability). Charge tickets online at where you will find seating maps, price options and a wealth of concert information. Tickets are also available at the Austin Symphony Box Office, 11th and Red River or call 476-6064 or 1-888-4-MAESTRO (toll-free).