News & Reviews

« All News & Reviews

UT Faculty Cellist Debuts with ASO

March 6, 2012
  • Who: Bion Tsang with the Austin Symphony Orchestra
  • When: March 30 & 31, 2012 - 8:00 pm
  • Where: Dell Hall, Long Center for the Performing Arts
  • Cost: $19-$48

Maestro Peter Bay and the Austin Symphony invite patrons to “Listen Up!” when they present acclaimed cellist Bion Tsang. Performances will be held on Friday and Saturday, March 30th & 31st in Dell Hall at the Long Center for the Performing Arts. The concerts are proudly sponsored by BBVA Compass Bank & Watkins Insurance Group with Centennial Guest Artist sponsorship provided by Frost Bank, Wells Fargo Bank, PlainsCapital Bank & Chase Bank.

Dvořák – Cello Concerto in B Minor, Op. 104
Pärt – Summa (1991 version)
Mozart – Symphony No. 41 in C Major, K. 551, Jupiter

Cellist Bion Tsang will open the evening with a performance of Antonín Dvořák’s Cello Concerto in B Minor. Mr. Tsang is internationally recognized as one of the outstanding instrumentalists of his generation: among his many honors are an Avery Fisher Career Grant, an MEF Career Grant and the Bronze Medal in the IX International Tchaikovsky Competition. Mr. Tsang made his professional debut at age eleven in two concerts with Zubin Mehta and the New York Philharmonic. He has appeared as soloist with such orchestras as the New York, Moscow and Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestras, the National, American, Pacific, Delaware and Atlanta Symphony Orchestras, the Saint Paul and Stuttgart Chamber Orchestras and the Taiwan National Orchestra.

Mr. Tsang resides in Austin, TX where he is on the faculty of the Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music at The University of Texas at Austin. He was the recipient of the Texas Exes Teaching Award after just his first year of service and in 2004-05 was named “Instrumentalist of the Year” by the Austin Critics Table.

Following a brief intermission, Maestro Bay and the ASO return to present Summa, a 20th century work by Estonian composer Arvo Pärt. Originally composed as a liturgical work for voices and organ, Summa was later stripped of the text and arranged for string orchestra.

Closing the evening’s program, the ASO will present the winner of the ASO’s “Clash of the Classical Titans” Tournament from last season, Mozart’s Jupiter Symphony No. 41. Austin Symphony patrons chose the Jupiter Symphony from a list of 128 classical works they would like to hear during this Centennial Celebration season.

Patrons can enjoy the Pre-Concert Talks with Bob Buckalew at 7:10 p.m. on the orchestra level of Dell Hall.

Tickets for Bion Tsang with the Austin Symphony start at $19. Student rush tickets are also available 20 minutes prior to performance for $5 cash and current student ID. Charge tickets online at where you will find seating maps, price options and a wealth of concert information. Tickets are also available at the Austin Symphony Box Office, 11th and Red River or call 476-6064 or 1-888-4-MAESTRO (toll-free).